Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether to accept a hard situation or try in order to make a change is a controversial topic today, as many people are struggling with different problems and worries. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will discuss now. On the one hand, it is said that the first step in facing problems is accepting them. Many psychologists maintain that we should stop worrying and trying to change the situation that we don’t have any control over it. For instance, when we lose somebody, the only thing we can do is accepting their death. Secondly, when an individual faces a new problem, may not be able to make a convincing decision because of the primary effects of that problem, or his/her emotional damage and if he/she tries to change the situation would make it even worse. On the other hand, supporters of this debate point to humans' abilities. Human beings have survived for decades and every single individual has the ability to face and solve different problems. None of the important crises would be over if humans didn’t try to improve or change the situation. Secondly, fighting through a bad situation makes the individual feel alive and prevents depression too. For example, while facing a money shortage, managing the money which is left and trying to earn more money and stop the loss is much better and more effective than just accepting the situation. To conclude, I feel human being is really powerful with wide capacities and abilities. So, it would be unwise not to do anything and just accept the problem. It would be better to try improving the bad situation while it is over.