Some people think that people should be given the right to use freshwater as they like. Others believe governments should strictly control the use of freshwater. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some that people should be given the right to freely use fresh water as they desire, while others argue that the government should strictly manage the way citizens use it. In my perspective, I contend that both sides must have their own responsibilities, regarding the use of water and in this passage, I will give manifold justifications why I side with the latter statement. On the one hand, there is no doubt that the need of fresh water for daily activities, such as cleaning and cooking is a basic human necessity, thereby people should be entitled to the freedom of using clean water. In addition, provided that the main industry of some nations is based on agriculture, farmers might need fresh water to create crops, since water is one of the most vital factors which directly lead to a fertile harvest and therefore contribute to the development of a nation. Ultimately, it is also evident that the government might fulfill the responsibility of providing enough water, in order to serve all the needs of its citizens. On the other hand, it is understandable why some supporters believe that having regulations of using clean water by the government also play a significant role down the road. By strictly managing the way people use clean water, the government might reduce the waste of water use, subsequently not only helping to protect our environment, but also preventing water shortage in the near future. In fact, when citizens are given the right to utilize clean water as much as they want, they might have a tendency to take it for granted and use it in inappropriate ways, which can lead to drought in some particular seasons. Furthermore, controlling the flow of water use might help the government to maintain a permanent supply of water for all of the pillar industries, such as agriculture and industrial sectors that require fresh water. Consequently, I believe that imposing regulations on the use of freshwater might address the problem to a manageable level. In conclusion, despite the fact that people have the right to have a freedom when utilize water as that is our basic human needs, I believe having regulation might be the optimal solution, since it shall help to prevent water shortage to a manageable level.