A second language is regarded as essential to success in the modern world. It should be compulsory for all children to study a second language as soon as they start school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, thinking prevailed that learning a second language is essential to learn or if it is important so to what extent people should learn it at an advanced level or medium level. In this debate, some people have an opinion that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or do work in a foreign country and others may think there are more reasons to learn a foreign language. In my view that learning another language has more reasons. People generally believe foreign languages have a limited role in their life. They think it can only be used if they need to travel abroad on a foreign casual trip, business trip, and work. Their opinions are somehow valid because people should know the native language of the country where they visit on a trip so it becomes easier for them to coordinate with them and shares their thoughts, feelings, and, emotions with them. While at work they need a proper understanding of the language which was used in the organization in that manner they will progress or retain their job. On the other hand, there are individuals who believed that learning languages have many benefits whether they visit foreign countries or not. It will become necessary now for people to know more languages other than their own native language because the world operates like a global village and everything is interlinked like the economy of the countries. There are multiple companies in the world that function in multiple countries. Therefore, learning the native language of a foreign company creates opportunities for individuals to work in that company. In summary, in today’s modern world wherein every domain of life people face competition. Learning a second/ foreign language becomes important for people to face the competition and get better opportunities for themselves.