Social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media aims individuals to stay connected with each other and be aware of the most recent news. I personally opine that bright sides of these phenomenon are more than downsides. To begin with the benefit of this virtual environment, it is proven that it has been extremely beneficial for businesses such as online shops, and hair salons. To illustrate, while scrolling down on search section of Instagram, people can see numerous Pages offering their services with samples or products to sell, bridal make-up or clothes shops for instance, and make it quite easy and comfortable for customers to contact them and make a contract or purchase something. Therefor, this way they can expand their jobs more effectively compared to traditional advertising systems. On the other hand, social media addiction and inappropriate contents or the things we must consider while surfing net. The results of recent research shows that 75% of students would rather having video calls or uploading pictures on facebook instead of doing homework and 35% of adults claimed that they had difficulties spending time with their family due to being attached to their phones. Moreover, it is available for all age ranges and even kids can easily access it which can be hazardous since there is not enough supervision applied on the contents shared there. Sextual and violent contents or only some examples of bad things waiting for young people there. To conclude, social media can be effective when it comes to advertising your job, although, it can be a huge wast of time and leads to addiction as well as being potential for sharing contents which are not suitable especially for kids