New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

The use of new technologies has indeed changed the way children spend their free time. The new change is because of the introduction of technology into the lives of the current generation. This essay examines the advantages and disadvantages and provides evidence to prove how the cons overshadow the pros. In the cutting-edge era, almost every household has an internet connection. Electronic devices such as cell phones and computers provide young people with opportunities to increase their access to educational resources and improve communication and social interaction. The reason is that through this electronic medium, they can access learning materials and online courses through technology, and this can enhance their learning outcomes. In addition, it also gives the younger generation the potential to improve communication and social interaction. In fact, social media and video chat platforms allow them to connect with their friends and family who may be far away, which can improve their social skills and reduce feelings of being isolated. For example, Covid outbursts in the world resulted in lockdowns, and children were not allowed to attend physical classes. The availability of the Internet made learning possible even without attending in-person sessions at school. Moreover, every child can access tons of information which keeps them up to date. By contrast, kids get hooked, and they are always glued to monitors. This directly favors a sedentary lifestyle, which impacts physical and mental fitness. For example, obesity has recently become a major concern for the last generation. Interest in internet access and online gaming leads to physical inactivity. Constant exposure to cell phones and computer screens also has a detrimental effect on eye and brain development. For instant, according to the health organization's statistics, an increasing percentage of children and adults with narrow-mindedness account for 15% to 40% of the total population. This results in an inactive lifestyle, which causes chronic diseases like obesity, heart disease, and high blood pressure. To conclude, even though technology comes with several positive things, depending on it, even during your free time, is not advisable. This is because some drawbacks like safety and staying indoors outweigh its advantages.