Many young people leave school with a negative attitude towards learning. What are the possible reasons for this? Suggest some solutions to address this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, the effectiveness of the education system at school has become a debatable one as many students develop a negative attitude towards learning. This essay will discuss the reasons for it with substantial evidence and solutions to mitigate it. To begin with, the primary reason for the change in attitude is due to the social pressure for securing high marks. Students are stressed out by the school leaving exams that impose quite a lot of pressure to crack them. Instead of gaining knowledge and enjoying education, this creates an aversion towards education. For instance, In Singapore, many students drop out of school as they cannot handle the pressure and stress of the school leaving exams. Thus, the greater the pressure of examination, the lesser the students are interested in their studies. In addition to this, in some countries, students are not given any options to study the subjects they are interested in. Thus forcing them to take up the courses they do not like creates a dislike towards education. For example, some students may be interested in science where as some exhibit skills in literature but they are forced to study all subjects at school rather than choosing a specific course of interest. It agreed that students should have basic knowledge in all subjects but not at the cost of disliking learning. To tackle this situation, the government and educational institutions should reassess the education system and should make efficient changes to reduce stress among students. Making parents understand that the marks are not important in the process of learning and not to pressurise the children thus enables the students to learn at their pace and enjoy learning. To summarise, learning is one of the important factors in life, if a student develops a negative attitude towards it at an early age could have a detrimental effect on his life. Pressure to secure marks and to study a subject without interest are the possible reasons for it. Government, parents and educational institutions should take necessary actions to mitigate it.