Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or diagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is much debate about raising the price of petrol and this idea has many proponents and opponents. While some people believe that this approach could be effective, others argue that it would be problematic for individuals and the economy as a whole. In my opinion, it would have negative and positive consequences. Initially, oil and gas play a fundamental role in the industry, since most of the heavy machinery used in different industries is operated by petrol. Moreover, some experts suggest that raising the price of petrol and gasoline has a direct effect on the price of goods and services and it may raise the rate of inflation in the country, therefore essential items such as food, transportation and energy prices may be raised. Consequently, it would affect low-income individuals in society and it is not affordable for them. Another point to consider is that higher petrol prices encourage people to use public shipment, for,instance the commuters who use buses, taxis or trains save more money because of the reasonable prices of public transportation. In addition, the governments could use extra money to improve the transport system. Furthermore, this approach could invest in promoting alternative modes of transportation such as cycling and walking and implementing policies that encourage carpooling and telecommuting. Additionally, stricter regulations on vehicle emissions could help reduce air pollution. In conclusion, although increasing the price of petrol may prevent traffic congestion and pollution problems, also it may have irreparable economic effects on the poor and middle class of society.