In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It is true that some individuals are more diligent than others in studying and working. There are several reasons for this, but I do not think over-industriousness is good all the time. There are some factors that lead a person to be a study enthusiast or workaholic. Firstly, those individuals have found passion in their studies or work, and they do not feel happy with other things. For example, when I studied my MBA course a few years ago, I found all the subjects so interesting and practical that I could concentrate on my study day and night. Secondly, many students foster the determination to succeed and live with purpose at a very young age, and they maintain this spirit when they grow up to be adults in the workplace. Finally, living an affluent and financially stress-free life is a goal of the majority of humans, and laboriousness is a secure way to lift out of poverty. However, studying and working too hard have drawbacks. The human body works like an apparatus that needs maintenance and breaks periodically or this will lead to burnout. For example, studying or working continuously for a long period is a precursor of some health problems such as stress, depression or insomnia. In addition, people are hardly productive and efficient if they are in fatigue, and all of their hard work may backfire. Moreover, there are other things that are not less important than study or work like entertainment or family commitments, people, therefore, should do well on work-life balance. In conclusion, While I could understand why many people are enthusiastic students or conscientious staff, I do not think it is right to spend all their time just in education or employment.