Some people think learning history in school is important. Others think learning subjects more relevant to life is important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people consider studying history-related courses essential to personal and social development, whereas others think that pursuing other aspects such as science and technology is more important. However, I personally think that history learning plays a more important role in our future advancement. On one hand, studying the past can provide us with guidance about contemporary issues that we need to handle. History is a knowledge base for individuals to consult and obtain valuable and meaningful feedback to make informed decisions in their lives. For instance, the attitude towards gender roles has changed but there were famous scientists and political leaders. The success of these female representatives may remind their counterparts that if they want to succeed they need to receive a good education to reach their full potential. On the other hand, critics may argue that other courses that are more relevant to life deserve more of our attention as they hold determining social values for us to succeed in a specific field. Economic restructuring and technological innovation have changed the life of many in this ever-changing society. For example, subjects such as economics, computer science and artificial intelligence, provide learners with state-of-the-art knowledge and information to fit into a fast-evolving world. The provision of life-related subjects encourages students to diversify their skills and select their favourite career path for future employment, and thus enjoy a fulfilling career. It is vitally important for individuals to be equipped with the necessary skills to say abreast of innovation in this modern world. In my opinion, we should lay more emphasis on learning about the past as the events that took place in the past play a crucial role in understanding the present and predicting the future. People hold the view that history always repeats itself and there are timeless rules that can be followed. For example, many years ago, the world experienced a pandemic that killed a large population in many countries, similar to the one that we live with nowadays. Consequently, knowledge about the past can provide assistance to people in dealing with the pandemic that is taking place around the globe. Therefore, we cannot deny that learning about the past facilitates overcoming today’s problems. In a nutshell, the past yields significant benefits in addressing contemporary crises and assisting individuals in making informed decisions that are more aligned with current societal norms, although other life-related courses may allow students to be at the forefront of innovation.