Some people think that sports involving violence, such as boxing, martial arts, should be banned from TV as well as from international sporting competitions. To what extent do you agree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that complete removal from television broadcasting and international sporting competitions of aggression-provoking sports is highly recommended. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion because of two major reasons that are explained in this essay. The primary reason that endorse my support for a total ban on violent sports on television comes from its detrimental impact on audiences. It is scientifically proven that content watched by people can have major impacts on their behaviours, meaning that violent materials likely invoke aggression. When violent sports are illustrated too often and in great detail on television, there is a chance that viewing audiences start mimicking these behaviours. The end result is a chaotic society where people portray intense aggressiveness International sporting competitions also can benefit from banning violent sports as they contradict the ultimate purpose of these events. These competitions are organized as means to generate unity and promote peace across nations as participants compete healthily and positively. However, violent sports may contain extreme situations where participants aggressively have physical impacts on each other. These aggressive behaviours may provoke misunderstanding, further breaking down the unity that the events ultimately desire. In conclusion, although there are controversial opinions on determining whether a ban on violent sports is necessary on television and sporting events, I think that complete removal is highly beneficial. Not only can these sports damage people's mental health, but also events hosting them initiate the destruction of the world's unity