Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Interestingly, there are merely no medical departments in private colleges in Taiwan. Some professors said this is due to the shortage of money because private educational institutions do not receive funds from the government. Undoubtedly, some citizens might claim that highly-educated workers should stay in the country and contribute to society after receiving financial support from the government, whereas some might argue that it is their free will to decide on the workplace. I personally side with the latter idea and in the following essay, I would elaborate on the reasons. To begin with, I believe democracy and freedom is the value of advanced countries, which should never violate human rights and sacrifice labour rights. This violation could cause a great loss in human labour. For example, if professionals want to work abroad and obtain the opportunities to collaborate with foreign skilled workers, but get blocked by federal laws, they might turn to consider other methods to achieve their goal like immigration or studying abroad. Therefore, the country is more likely to lose its workforce permanently. Some educationalists might claim that high educational institutions usually receive funds from the government, so in order to keep these experts in the homeland, the country should place reasonable restrictions on the graduates. For instance, some doctors who obtained their degrees through public money from the local authority need to sign a contract and stay in remote mountains to help improve the medical conditions of the poor. However, I believe the means are robotic and unfit. Doctors who choose to work abroad can not only gain a wealth of foreign working experience but also have different perspectives on running hospitals. It will be a gift when they come back and contribute back to society. In conclusion, placing unnecessary laws on professions is a way to push them away from their homeland. Instead, giving them the freedom to choose is far more welcoming.