Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a growing argument on the packaging of goods from manufacturers and supermarkets. Some believe it should be reduced by the providers. While others believe customers are responsible to avoid getting goods with a lot of packaging. For the first view, some people agree that manufacturers and supermarkets should reduce the packaging. First point, as a provider you seek to satisfy customers. Hence, the demand of the public, is to lessen the amount of packaging. Another point, less packaging leads to a better environment. Extra materials can no longer be used and are hard to degrade in the environment. In addition, not all materials are recycled. While the other view agrees it is the customer’s choice not to buy goods with a lot of packaging. Sometimes a nice pretty design requires a lot of packaging, for example, gifts are meant to have unique colourful packaging. Also, some types of goods require certain features with the packaging, such as the packaging of a dessert that comes with a spoon and plate for heating. In my opinion, manufacturers and supermarkets should consider the thoughts of the public and hear their feedback. Also, consider the environment and how the materials produced affect it. Additionally, the customer can avoid certain types of goods and choose something more suitable for him. To sum up, both views bring some valid points. The first view is giving responsibility to manufacturers and supermarkets for the choice of reducing packaging. While the second view thinks that the customer should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging.