These days, the wealhty in society often throw away perfectly good products in order to replace them with more up-to-date models. Do the environmental disadvantages of this development outweigh the economic advantages?

Nowadays, materials in good condition are often replaced by the affluent in society in order to purchase modern brands. Although there is an advantage to this, its negative effects on the environment cannot be overemphasized. One of the major negativities of replacing well-functioning devices seems to be the land and water bodies pollution. Decomposition of some of these commodities releases pollutant particulates on the land and run-offs thereby reducing the soil fertility for agricultural purposes and leading to the dwindling numbers and extinction of aquatic lives. Furthermore, it is said that a larger percentage of some society lands have been used as dumping grounds for these rejected goods. For instance, Desmond Rels stated in his article that 70% of China's residential areas and farmlands have been replaced with debilitated materials storage. Undoubtedly, it may seem that buying the latest products such as mobile phones, cars, and kitchen appliances amongst others boost the economy of a country. As the producers are patronized, government revenue increases through tax payments and import levies. For example, India has the highest rate of imports in the year 2020 and their economy rose that year to double what it was the year before. Notwithstanding, this does not in any way promote the 'safe environmental acts' of reusing and recycling renewable materials thereby making the eco-system unfavourable for both plants and animals. In conclusion, the cons of frequently replacing perfectly good products far outweigh its economic effects. As a result, eco-friendly attitudes can be adopted by both individuals and governing bodies so as to make the earth a safe habitat.