Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for childre. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a conflicting view on whether reading storybooks is better for children than letting them watch TV or play computer games. I completely agree with the statement that reading books is better for a child because they accumulate more knowledge from books and are able to improve their reading comprehension. Moreover, the benefits of reading books have long been established and those children that are reading books have shown that they are good at accumulating knowledge on their own. For instance, they have better academic performance and are quicker at understanding lessons. This is because by reading books the child is able to widen their understanding and able to translate what they have learned. Additionally, improving knowledge should not only happen inside the school but also in the comfort of their own homes. I do think that a child that read books will improve faster and will have a better understanding of other core subjects important to their development. Furthermore, reading books could improve the reading comprehension of a child. Unfortunately, there were adults that do not understand simple statements. For instance, in the Philippines, they were students that suffer from low reading comprehension due to distractions from different activities nowadays. These will have a negative impact on the future state of an economy because this could lead to decrease competitiveness. The possible impact could have been prevented by encouraging the children to read more books. In conclusion, I completely agree that books are better for children at providing knowledge and developing reading comprehension.