These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time.

Explain why you think this change has happened. What are the effects of this change in attitude? It is true that consumer habits have changed in the past years, as people do not repair and reuse things that they did in the past. There are several reasons why this is the case, and this behaviour has some detrimental effects on humans and the environment. There are some explanations for this phenomenon. Firstly, today is a materialistic society where new products are introduced constantly and purchasing things is so convenient with the help of online shopping. For example, a new model of iPhone is launched on a yearly basis when the last model has just sold out shortly. Secondly, there are more entertainment options for humans like surfing on social networking websites in their leisure time rather than spending time repairing broken items themselves or having them fixed. Finally, people earn money more easily than those in the past, and, therefore, they have fewer considerations in shopping for things. This change in behaviour causes a number of consequences. The large quantities of household waste make the garbage treatment process difficult, and this harm the environment. For example, plastic items buried under the ground erode the soil, and burning them creates carbon dioxide that pollutes the air. In addition, if the cycle of removing and producing is too fast, it depletes the natural resources, as production consumes energy and raw materials. Last but not least, this gives later generations a stereotype of reusing and cycling, as they naturally think that it is right to remove appliances casually. In conclusion, I can understand why people nowadays are less likely to emend old or damaged merchandise, and I do not think this trend is a good one.