In order to learn the way other people in the world lives, it is better to look at film and video records than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has always been curious to know the lifestyle of the people in different parts of the world. While some people believe that visual records such as films and videos provide useful information, other people tend to put more importance on written records. I personally support the former view for the following reasons. On the one hand, films and videos excel at depicting a clear image of the lifestyle of different cultures. The actual scenes and people in the movie make it easier even for children to understand various dishes, clothes, and rituals in another country. For instance, with the colourful pictures of sushi and okonomiyaki, they are able to understand how Japanese dishes look without any effort. In addition, people in the modern world are able to access updated information with the increasing number of video clips posted on SNS. Therefore, this allows the viewers to know a global trend in fashion. On the other hand, in spite of such visual records offering the latest information about the international lifestyle, written records remain essential, for their high credibility. For example, documentaries and newspapers often clarify the origin of the source and they are edited by professional writers. In other words, they have more trusted articles in contrast to the random posts of videos online. In fact, readers are able to grasp more complicated ideas and beliefs underlying a particular lifestyle of individuals through written materials. In conclusion, films and videos provide practical images of how people live in different parts of the world. However, the role of written records should not be neglected for their profound analysis of people's thoughts and beliefs.