Some people say that the internet is bringing people together by making the world smaller. Do you agree that the internet is making it easier for people to communicate?

It is thought by some people thanks to the invention of the internet we can feel that the world is not so big. This essay completely agrees with this statement. I will discuss the reasons in the ensuing paragraphs. In the past, the only writing way to communicate was by sending letters, which they use to take at least two to six months to arrive. Moreover, the other possible way to communicate was by making calls but it was extremely expensive to do it. For instance, my father, when he was 28 years old, he travelled all around the world for around 2 years. He barely managed to talk with their parents because of the time that took to arrive at each letter. Nowadays, the internet is good enough to enable people to communicate in an effective way. With the invention of Internet-basted and a range of social media applications, communication is fast cheap, and affordable for everyone. Hence, for the people who are living overseas, having the possibility to talk every day with their relatives and friends, makes much easier the fact of living far away. For instance, my brother has been living in New Zealand for the last three years but having the possibility of talking to him almost every day and making video calls makes me feel he is not so far. To conclude, the internet has had a positive effect on communication by giving people the opportunity to communicate more easily and frequently with others, making us feel that we are not so far from the other side of the world.