Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that animal experimentation, which is commonly undertaken for medical and product safety trials, should be prohibited due to ethical concerns, others support that suffering can be justified for human’s benefits. This essay attempts to shed light on both sides before concluding that I am in favour of the latter notion. On the one hand, animal testing could be morally wrong to a certain extent. An example of the practice is that animals such as mice or monkeys would be made ill before measuring the effectiveness of tested drugs. Such pain is not accepted among animal activists when they argue that humans have no rights to subject animals to this trauma. Moreover, some alternative research methods have been developed such as vitro testing or computer modelling. These methods could have more advantages than animal testing in the sense of accuracy, because they could be tailored to the specific needs of human biology. On the other hand, supporters of the mentioned practice are convinced that advantages could outweigh the concerns. Most importantly, it is true that there are alternative methods of research to replace animal testing, yet they are not reliable. For example, some alternatives such as computer modelling or cell cultures can not simulate the effects of drugs on brains which in turn could not be applied to humans. Additionally, despite some ethical concerns for animals, a certain amount of suffering can be justified if human lives are saved. Thanks to animal experiments, there are uncountable successful developments in the medical field. Such success can be named penicillin or studies of causes and effects of treatments for cancer or heart attacks. In conclusion, while there are ethical concerns on animal testing, I would personally support a controlled amount of experimentation for critical medical research until new effective alternatives have been developed.