Some parents believe that children should do extra-curricular activities after school. Others say in this way children are under pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is often thought that after-school activities are essential for children's holistic growth, others believe that they add too much burden to children having to juggle between academic and non-academic matters. In my opinion, co-curricular activities are vital to developing important life skill sets, such as collaboration, empathy, and communication, but children should not be forced to do them unless they have enough free time. On one hand, extra-curricular activities, which mostly involve sports, community service and arts, are a great platform for children to learn teamwork and be creative. In other words, academic subjects focus too much on individual effort and as a result, it is often observed that many academically strong children end up not as successful at work as their peers, who were active in co-curricular activities since they struggle to collaborate and communicate effectively with others. Furthermore, performing well in both academic and non-academic definitely shows that you have gone above and beyond your basic academic expectation. Hence, top universities’ selection criterion emphasizes extra-curricular involvement. On the other hand, people might argue that after-school activities take away time from academic studies. Some parents who focus on academics only think that after-school activities are a waste of time and energy. There is a heightened interest in mental health; therefore, some parents also prefer not to pressure their children as it is not healthy. There are a lot of depressed children in countries with demanding academic standards, thus, parents start prioritizing children ’s happiness. In addition to that, in this current society, which promotes free will, many support children have the power to choose their own path. Finally, In my view, children need to join extracurricular activities. It provides a way to learn indispensable life skills. Though I agree that free will is a basic right, children require proper guidance from experienced adults to navigate the real world. One way to resolve this is letting children try and choose what co-curricular activities that interest them. They also can make a lot of friends, who can be their valuable support system, through these activities. Last but not least, research has shown that non-academic activities could be a channel to release stress. For example, exercising releases dopamine which boosts mental health. Nevertheless, parents should not force their children to do such activities especially when they have other academic tasks to be done because this will affect their performance at school. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that extracurricular activities have a lot of benefits for children, yet if they can be a burden for children, parents must not force them to do them. Consequently, If schools taught their students about time management, they would be able to balance both academic subjects and non-academic activities.