There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, children feel a lot of tension from their parents in order to achieve big academical success. This is why there are certain types of people, which believe that non-academic subjects are not supposed to be learned in school. I strongly disagree with this statement. In my opinion, things like sports (football, volleyball, basketball and others) along with different additional subjects like cookery, music, painting and handicrafts are as important as academic ones. First of all, every child needs a place and time for relaxation, increasing creativity and raising potential. Receiving this kind of abstract thinking and developing all different types of qualities will give all those children a much happier atmosphere in school and will dramatically decrease the pressure they are feeling. Additionally, there wouldn't be all those famous chefs, painters, and musicians in the world if they hadn't got the chance to be involved in that kind of activity in their school life. On the other hand, those non-academic sides of education are developing other parts of the brain that conventional subjects can't reach with their dry material and lack of imagination. However, there is no doubt that disciplines like math, biology, chemistry, history and others are very important for the mind and cultural evolution of young people. But are those educational achievements, which parents crave, more important than children's emotional health and happiness? I believe not. There are lots of examples of adults that are more than unable to deal with stress and pressure in their everyday life and one of the main reasons is that feeling inside them of letting people's expectations down. In conclusion, I think that is very important for adults to trust their children and the decisions they are making. Yes, success is very important, but it's not necessary to be linked with academic status.