Some people believe that alcohol should be considered as a drug and made illegal. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Alcohol has become so popular throughout the years taking many forms of beverages. Although it has many more health impacts, people are still consuming them in high quantities. While several people think that alcohol should be labelled as a drug and declared illegal, there are others who prefer the contrary. In this essay, I will discuss why I completely agree with this view and give my reasons. To begin with, there are occasions that alcohol promotes as an entertainment product for people who are having a fun time, however like other known drugs it causes a lot of social dilemmas and problems because most of the time people will exceed the limits. For example, people use alcohol not just to have a good time but to drown in their sorrows or as a solution to the mental pressure, causes by day-to-day activities. In third-world,countries this situation has become crucial where leading to physical harassment and even murders. Therefore making them illegal may result in a deduction of the above-mentioned situations. Moreover, alcohol will decline the mental capacity of humans which is another reason to consider it as a drug and make it illegal. Some researchers have found that as a by-product consuming liquor can cause neurone cells in the central nervous system to shrink and die, which will result in many mental conditions. To illustrate, research, which was conducted in the US, has found that people who consume alcohol on a daily basis had a tendency for reducing their short-term memory by 10% compared to non-drinkers. This is another reason to ban alcohol and name them illegal. In conclusion, there is an ongoing debate about whether liquor should be banned and marked as illegal or not; however I totally agree with making them illegal and banning them because people tend to over-consume alcohol, which makes chaos in society, and like other drugs can cause health issues like loss of memory.