Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. if these are not taught many are at risk of dying out. in your opinion is it important for everyone to study English? should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

These days, several individuals believe that it is more essential to learn English at school than local languages. Many would die out if these are not taught. From my standpoint, it is crucial for people to study English, and sustain the survival of local languages as well, and this essay will give the solution to this problem. On the one hand, learning English is extremely important for everyone. Firstly, it provides many job opportunities and prospects for a career. To illustrate, English is the global language, so it helps us to communicate with others and creates international integration. A large number of corporations require English qualifications for specific positions. Secondly, English is a tool to improve our knowledge. We can get access to a huge amount of information in English which we cannot search from our mother tongue. Thus, people can search for useful knowledge from foreign websites and become more knowledgeable. On the other hand, it is also important to sustain the existence of native languages. This is because they represent the cultural values and identities of countries. There are two main approaches that can maintain mother tongues. To start with, creating educational programmes on TV to help people in a country understand the importance and beauty of their own language. Another solution is to teach children about the significance of native languages. Being educated when they are young, adolescents will be aware of them, which helps to ensure the existence of languages. To sum up, although studying English is crucial for everybody with its benefits and advantages, maintaining the native language is also necessary with its own values. Hence, we must take actions to tackle this situation.