Some people feel that learning a foreign languageis an essential component of a child's education. Others feel that learning a foreign language is often a waste of time that can be better spent on learning technologyand other vocational subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People are arguing about which one is a critical aspect of the child's education, whether studying foreign languages or other vocational subjects like technology. In my opinion, both views are beneficial to the children, however, it depends on their interests and future aspirations. Children who are fluent in different foreign languages will find it easier to get a job worldwide. Foreign languages are needed to work in a multinational company. For example, some companies that have multiple branches in China and the US oblige their employee to speak in bilinguals such as Mandarin and English. Other than that, with the vast development of remote working, being able to speak in English is compulsory for non-English speakers. Regarding this requirement, parents who recognize their child's passion for languages and work worldwide will believe it is essential. Besides, learning vocational subjects will be more practical and faster to land a job. With the rapid development of technology, as well as the engineering sector that remains strong, those two subjects are always needed by the market. In addition, proficiency in those particular sectors is built by practice, which means learning from a young age will give them enough time to be an expert. For instance, software engineer experts mostly are people who have been exposed to coding for years, since their school era either by self-learning or with a tutor. Nevertheless, I think either learning languages or vocational has its own advantages and would be more valuable to the children if it could support their dreams. In conclusion, learning foreign languages or vocational subjects both will bring good values to the children. Moreover, what parents should be more focused on is the children's passion and the future profession that they aspire to be.