Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumers. Some people believe we should buy food from the local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In order to fulfil the ever-growing demand for goods and boost revenues, industries have evolved to mass produce, import and quicken the supply chain. However, with the commercialization occurring in the end-to-end process, it draws a debate about whether industrialization causes environmental damage and harms local producers. Although there are some downsides, this essay justifies that the upturns are stronger as this has a positive impact towards the global climate and human welfare by buying from domestic harvests. Allowing small-scale enterprises to thrive will support sustainability and community. Not only market is often located within close proximity to residential areas, fresh products offered in the market often come without packaging hence lower emissions. Furthermore, neighbourhood sellers also reap 100% of the revenue without unnecessary cuts from marketing and inflated costs from corporations. Case in point, to attain cost minimization, large corporations usually exploit small business owners by overcharging distribution fees hence further severing their supposed income. Admittedly, perishable groceries in community markets can be more expensive and inconsistent which can discourage some potential buyers. Because harvesters only have limited labour capacity and technology compared to brands, they may have higher prices and lack quality control thus inconsistencies in outcomes. In such cases, each non-preservatives organic milk from the fresh market can have different expiration dates and textures. Despite the possible disadvantages, I believe if an individual strongly resonates with sustainable values, they would persist in paying the premium and consequences. To conclude, buying locally yield more visible benefits in terms of decreasing carbon emissions and small-owned businesses' welfare than large corporations' products. However, shoppers should acknowledge and prepare for the price tag and inconsistent quality that may exist.