Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

The number of humans who complain of increased fatigue along with other adverse effects of inadequate sleep is increasing globally. This essay will explore several possible consequences of this phenomenon as well as ways to remedy the situation. Improper sleep hygiene can result in quite a few adverse outcomes. Firstly, it can cause feelings of chronic tiredness which could ultimately inhibit one from going about their activities of daily living and negatively affect their quality of life. Secondly, restful sleep is essential for the brain in order for it to be able to efficiently carry out bodily functions and maintain health. Therefore, insufficient sleep could result in ill health. For instance, a published research by the WHO revealed that people who consistently get at least eight hours of sleep every night are ten times more likely to recover from diseases in a short amount of time when compared to people who do not get as much rest. There are several ways to encourage better sleep hygiene. This involves not looking at any screens for at least two hours before bedtime. In addition, people could be taught certain relaxation techniques that ultimately lead to a better night’s rest. For example, a certain technique used by the American Navy involves inhaling through the mouth for eight seconds followed by exhaling through the nose for five seconds. When done several times in a row, it was proven to relax the body’s muscles and allows a person to fall asleep within minutes. In conclusion, adequate sleep is the key to optimum health. The lack of it has serious repercussions such as chronic fatigue and poor health. However, there are simple techniques that can be employed to prevent adverse effects such as the limitation of screen time along with the usage of relaxation techniques.