Fewer and fewer people walk on daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend time walking?

In today's rapid age of modernization, thanks to the advance in technology, more people have access to quality transport to commute to work or study on a regular basis. Some people uphold that this is beneficial, whereas others opine that this convenience may result in fewer walkers on the street. In this essay, I will elaborate on the causes of this phenomenon and propose two effective ways to tackle this issue. Firstly, modern citizens living in the overwhelming hustle and bustle of metropolitan cities are struggling to have their own space to walk as most of pavements are occupied by some individuals like salers, street stores or for parking-purposes. Secondly, the development of the transport system also contributes to the reduction in the number of walking city dwellers. As a matter of fact, since people have a wide variety range of modes of transport, they opt for the most comfortable one with the fastest speed instead of losing their stamina on walking. There are two solutions which can be implemented to cope with this problem. First, government should engage with businesses to invest more in traffic infrastructure to guarantee pedestrians' safety. Besides, schools are the best places to cultivate students 'knowledge about the advantage of walking as this activity is proven that can help individuals enhance human physical strength, resulting in optimal health. In brief, the lack of space for pedestrians and the convenience of vehicles can be the main reasons why the number of people commuting on foot decreasing significantly. To deal with this statement, we should have proper traffic infrastructure to prevent walkers from potential dangers and raise people's awareness about the benefits of walking.