Social media has a negative impact on society. To what extent do you agree?

It’s an undeniable fact that social media has transformed the way people communicate and spend their time. While many argue that it has resulted in many benefits in our daily lives, I strongly believe that the negative impacts far outweigh the positive ones. Social media has a significant influence on mental well-being. Lots of people tend to compare each other’s lifestyles knowingly or unknowingly. When people come across a curated, well-organized lifestyle of celebrities and content creators on a virtual platform, most of us feel insecure and unsatisfied with ourselves. In addition, an increasing number of people are obsessed with social media leading to wasting their valuable time to keep a virtual presence rather than focusing on their well-being. This has been proved by data from Apple which indicates that iPhone users are allocating a substantial proportion of screen time on social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Similarly, social media are constantly criticized for their extensive collection of users’ data and privacy concerns. Many users are subject to social abuse, financial loss and other fraudulent activities due to the data leak from virtual platforms. Furthermore, constant monitoring and exposure of personal information on social media can cause a loss of control over one’s own personal identity and privacy. In addition, the rapid dissemination of misinformation on social media is a pressing concern. The lack of fact-checking and the presence of echo chambers on social media amplify the false news which brings serious consequences in areas such as politics and public health. The widespread false information causes public distrust, impedes informed decision-making, and contributes to the division within communities. To conclude, social media has a predominantly negative impact on society, evidenced by mental distress, privacy concern and false news. Individuals, policymakers, and social media companies should collectively address those issues and work towards fostering a healthier and more responsible online environment.