Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, lots of food products have added sugar at a high level. This is a highly controversial topic because food products with a high level of sugar are harmful to people. Therefore, some experts have a proposal that the price of sugar should be risen. In this essay, I will discuss both aspects of this topic, but personally, I disagree that rising sugar prices will be helpful to encourage people to consume fewer sugar products. Producers of sugar products tend to increase sugar prices, which seems a good way to encourage people to consume less sugar. However, one of the biggest issues with the rising price of sugar is that a lot of food and drink products that have ingredients of sugar will become princely. As a result, it could lead to much food with sugar becoming overpriced. From my knowledge, a suitable example could be that under such circumstances, a chocolate bar which used to cost 5 dollars will cost 15 dollars or more. And yet sugar producer is the one who actually benefits from overpriced sugar products. For example, some people who are fans of sugar still will buy sugar products. Therefore, they will cost more to buy these products. In addition, some people who consume fewer sugar products want to buy sugar products, so they will cost more than before. Secondly, the cost of sugar manufacture is the same for producers, but they can earn more profits if producers raise the price. In conclusion, as can be seen from the points made in this essay, I strongly oppose this view, because this proposal can’t effectively help people to consume less sugar actually. To contrast the most beneficial side of sugar food and drink manufacturers that might lead people to spend more money on sugar products.