Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Space exploration has become significantly important within the last century. Although some people argue that it might be more beneficial to use this money for more necessary purposes. I completely agree with the given opinion, since it is more important to fund the social services of a country,especially if a country does not belong to developed ones. Rocket and satellite construction and training of astronauts require billions of pounds of investment. Instead, this money could be used for funding health services, which is more beneficial for both current and future generations. Elderly people, for,instance would not benefit from a rocket launched into space, whereas free stroke prevention medications might save their lives and increase their quality. Hence, there should be a priority on funding public services over space exploration. Moreover, poor countries should not waste money on rockets, until they develop economically. Since it is unacceptable for people to die from curable diseases, the government is investing in satellites. Nobody would benefit from such politics and such government might lose the support of citizens. therefore it is vitally important for authorities to distribute funding wisely and prioritise those services, which are more necessary for ordinary people. To sum up all of the above, in my point of view funding should be distributed carefully,especially if it is a Third World country and social services should always be prioritised over space exploration.