Some people say that the best way to reduce crime is by using prison sentence To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Recently,crime rates have been increasing sharply all over the world and this rate causes lots of environmental problems. As a result, the public does not trust anyone because everyone can be a criminal on the streets. Yet, there is some disagreement as to whether the best way to punish criminals is behind bars or not. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that lockup is necessary for punishment.The reasons to support my view are as follows. First of all, it is an undeniable fact that lockup is the best option rather than criminals staying free in the cities. In Turkey, for instance, a murderer who walked with freedom killed his old wife and that is why people want to collect them to send them to jail. Moreover, if the government does not punish organized crime, we can see more victims like that girl. As a consequence, the government have to collect criminals and give them a punishment who deserved that after that send them behind bars. Equally importantly, though, prison can make them better people. Clearly, prisoners can maybe rehabilitate in jail to be better people and after this rehabilitation, they can easily adapt to better life standards. At the end of the punishment, people trust the old prisoners who can achieve rehabilitation. On the other hand, some gangland do not deserve jail because they did not a very big crime such as rapist. That is to say, these gangland who did petty crimes do not deserve the same sentence as rapists. However, a slight sentence is necessary for them such as social areas jobs. To sum up, I once again restate my view that prison is the best way to punish big criminals such as violent criminals.