The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent years have witnessed a significant increase in the number of young offenders, causing widespread concern among the public. Therefore, it is suggested that providing parents with parental skills can be the most effective solution to overcome this issue. Personally, I believe that joint efforts of both parents and schools are necessary to decline youth crimes. On the one hand, it is undeniable that youngsters are likely to imitate unconsciously their parents ’ words and actions. Thus, parents can be a model in shaping their children’s behaviour and characteristic through a set of internal and external social interactions. In other words, whether a teenager has a proper attitude or a good personality depends mostly on the parents ’ background. To illustrate, a statistical report from Canadian National Crime Prevention Center revealed that adolescents from families which lack order and discipline were four times greater at risk of committing illegal activities as adults than others from structured households. As a result, equipping parents with parental skills is crucial to prevent and control the crime rate among teenagers. These skills can include techniques of using discipline efficiently and a balance between supervision and control over children’s habits. On the other hand, schools and other educational institutions also play a major part in preventing the criminal activities of young people. It is noteworthy that students spend most of their time at schools where their behaviour can be affected negatively by other peers, leading to the risk of committing unlawful actions. Consequently, the role of academic institutions cannot be neglected. With a unique position, schools can contribute to students’ development by providing them with nurturance and opportunities to improve their social and psychological skills to avoid factors contributing to misconduct. In fact, school-based programs can keep children from embarking on a life of lawlessness. In conclusion, parents and schools are two major components affecting the development of children’s behaviour and characteristic. Therefore, they are required to spend great efforts to cooperate with each other to reduce youth crimes.