Some people think that in order to continue improving the quality of high school education, students should be encouraged to evaluate and criticize their teachers. Others, however, believe that this would result in the loss of respect and dignity for teachers. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that to improve the teaching standards of a school, students are urged to provide feedback to their teachers, while others say that this might create indiscipline and might be regarded as disrespectful. I believe that allowing pupils to provide feedback to the tutor is unacceptable. On the one hand, some institutions encourage their students to encourage and criticise their teachers, so that they can determine the strengths and weaknesses of those tutors. Since students are the ones who have the most access to teachers, they are the best options for the schools to draw an insight of how they can improve their education, and the school can assess the academic staff from different criteria such as punctuality, teaching quality and interaction. For instance, I am an example of this, my school always handed out an evaluation form at the end of the semester for the scholars to provide feedback regarding the study contents, and evaluate how those teachers deliver the contents. On the other hand, schools should not ask their students to fill in the evaluation forms, as they do not have the qualification to provide feedback or criticise the tutors. The academy principals and their recruitment team know best which candidates are the best fit for the institute, and the recruitment team went through several rounds of interviews to choose the best candidates to ensure that they can improve their learning facilities. In addition, since students at this age are still growing physically and mentally, therefore, they often use their emotions to decide, rather than focusing on the details. For instance, a study conducted by the University of London shows that high school students are very emotional due to changes in their hormones. Thus, their emotions influence their decision-making. In conclusion, although giving feedback to their tutor can provide insights on how the institutions can do better, the students are not the right judgment in this case, as they do not have the quality to criticise and their emotions often lead to their decision-making outcome.