In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In the present day, finding about the history of the house or the building they live in has become more and more popular. With the technological advancement and the influence of social media, I believe it’s safe to say it had become somewhat of a trend to find about the history of their living place to see if there are any extraordinary stories behind their houses or buildings. Furthermore, I think having an interesting back story might increase the value of their house. People have become more interested in finding about people lived in their places before them and their way of life, any events that took place before as it presents a desire to connect to the past and to find out how things were before them. For an example, I remember a video on social media talking about a hotel near the building they lived which has a history of unsolved murders, homicides, and unexplained disappearances of people who stayed at that hotel which attracted the attention of a lot of viewers. I believe this type of information adds a little curiosity and an interest into people ’s monotonous lifestyle which makes extraordinary stories about the history of houses and buildings more interesting. Therefore, this social media trends influence people to be more and more curious and interested in finding about the history of their own living place. History, particularly about houses and buildings can be passed on by the word of mouth and it becomes more interesting to learn about the history from an old timer. Moreover, people can use old newspapers from the library to find out about any specific incidents happened in the past. Additionally, internet is the most convenient and the widely used source of information as it can be connected to a wide variety of websites and information sites which can be quite useful.