The government should control the amount of violence in films and televisions in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the most worrying trends is the considering number of criminal activities caused by violent movies or episodes. Some believe that the authorities should be involved to intervene and reduce illegal activities. I agree with this notion to a large extent as the media can be a powerful weapon to transmit inappropriate information to the community. Firstly, young people imitate what they see and, logically, they see glamour in what they do when commit violence. Teenagers are impressionable and can be easily misguided by inappropriate displays in films that may have an adverse effect on the functionality of the community. For example, teenagers tend to earn a sense of self-esteem by conducting activities that are “cool” in their perspective, however, with limited knowledge of the consequences of their behaviours. Consequently, too much portrayal of violent exposures may pose a strain on the development of the whole society. Secondly, reducing the amount of violent and criminalised display in movies and television programmes yields significant benefits in promoting the positive mental development of individuals. Media network nowadays is indispensable to the life of many in this technological world in which citizens have access to all types of news and videos on the Internet. For instance, a decline in violent shows can be a good start in controlling criminal behaviours when residents have less exposure to those types of information and features that may lead to undesirable consequences. Therefore, a fall in the number of inappropriate television episodes and films is essential for effective control of criminal behaviours by lessening the exposure to the public. On the other hand, simply cutting down on the show of illegal features and programmes may not be able to address the underlying issue. There are still other factors that contribute to illegal actions. For instance, an unhealthy family condition deserves more of our attention to ensure the warfare of teenagers. These conditions may include parental inadequacy, parental conflict, parental criminality or lack of respect and responsibility. All of which have the potential to jeopardize children’s mental health and emotional well-being. As a result, there should be measures to address this issue from another perspective such as family background to pay more attention to the upbringing of the younger generation. In a nutshell, I agree to a large extent that it is essential to reduce the number of violent scenes in movies and documentaries to decrease the exposure of criminal actions to the public which arises from the fact that media is prevalent nowadays and also from the fact that young people may copy and implement scenes on shows that result in crime.