Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

One of the serious issues facing the majority of large urban areas is overpopulation. The main reason for this is the lack of employment opportunities and lack of facilities in the rural areas, and the viable solution is for the government to incentivise its citizen to stay in those areas. The number of people allocating to urban areas increases every year, causing overpopulation in the majority of urban centres. Most people are seeking for a better job opportunity that can provide them with a higher income, a higher standard of living and a job that allows them to prosper and develop their own growth. Since the city centres are often the centre of business districts compared to the rural areas, people wants to secure a job where they can ensure their work stability. For instance, Phnom Penh, the capital city of Cambodia is reported to be too crowded, as there is a large jump of people moving to the capital cities to secure themselves a career. A solution to help mitigate this problem is to offer incentives to people who are living in those towns with smaller populations. Since the primary goal of people relocating to huge cities is because of capital, therefore, by giving people allowances such as house allowance can help prevent the issue. In addition, the government can also provide implement a scheme of equal wages, despite the work location. For instance, the South Korean government are giving allowance to their citizen who lived in a developing area, and providing more subsidies for farmers or workers who are working in those locations. In conclusion, the major urban problem of overpopulation caused by the excessive number of people relocating to find a better job in the city can be partly alleviated by the introduction of incentivising people who lived in those underdeveloped areas. I would certainly stay in the rural area if it was introduced in my area.