Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Dynamic and ever-changing economic situations necessitate us to work prolonged hours and thereby leaving us little or no time to enjoy ourselves. This is detrimental to overall well-being and poses negative impacts to individuals, the business environment and society. Long hour working can have several disadvantages to both physical body and mental health. Individuals can feel mental breakdowns and burnout for not having proper rest. This can discourage creativity and productivity in the workplace which is a loss to the benefit of the workplace. In addition, stressful employees may not be capable of building strong relationships with coworkers and resulting in inefficiencies in teamwork and collaboration. It’s significant that working long hours has counterproductive effects rather than getting work done. Similarly, due to a sedentary lifestyle, people are prone to obesity and chronic health diseases in the long term. Inadequate time to pursue personal interests and leisure activities can have a disastrous impact on family life and society. Parents need to sacrifice family life with their children for overtime causing emotional deficits and the necessity to spend their fortune on childcare. Furthermore, the individual who has enough rest can spend their time on hobbies, further studies, and professional advancement which is beneficial to not only himself but also the community around him. In contrast, the whole community is losing the benefits which can be reaped from the working individuals. To conclude, working overtime brings more disadvantages to personal well-being, career progress, family life and overall society. Therefore, authorities and employers should take proactive steps such as limiting working hours and giving time off to ensure a sustainable and healthy working environment.