Nowadays, people all over the world are spending more and more time apart from their families. Why is this happening? How does this affect people and their families?

In today’s world, many individuals find that they have less time with the family. Before, such occurrences were limited to just a few places, but now, citizens in many countries experience something similar. Although the situation may be viewed as a necessary sacrifice for some, there are consequences. One reason why this is happening is that the increased standard of living is requiring breadwinners to seek better opportunities farther from home. Domestically, this may mean working in a nearby town or city on the weekdays and going home on the weekends. But other times, the search for greener pastures often requires them to work abroad for months or years. Another reason for this shift is society’s promotion of independence. Nowadays, a person is considered mature and successful if they can live independently. Thus, many teens leave home early, preferring to study in faraway cities. Such independence may also encourage spouses to maintain separate career paths that keep them away from one another for extended periods. Unfortunately, such a long time apart takes its toll on individuals and their families. Homesickness is often a result of time away from the family, leading to depression. If such persons cannot recover quickly, their jobs or studies are often greatly affected, leading to even more problems - a vicious cycle. As for their families, the lengthy separation usually weakens the family bonds, despite the availability of communication technology. Children often do not feel their absentee parent’s love, causing resentment in some cases. The relationship between spouses is particularly strained, which is why marital affairs and divorce often occur. To conclude, because of the general need to provide for the family and achieve personal success, this trend of living apart is slowly becoming the norm. However, if strong family bonds are to be maintained, families should consider other ways to earn or ensure that meaningful communication between members is somehow sustained.