Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today's society, there is a debate regarding whether children should be given the autonomy to make their own choices on daily subjects, such as food, clothes, and entertainment. Some argue that giving children this freedom leads to a self-centred society, where individuals prioritize their own desires above all else. Others believe this situation is essential for their development. This essay will discuss both views and present my own perspective. Opponents of children with the ability to independently make decisions assert that may foster a community of individuals who particularly focus on fulfilling their personal wishes. They argue that without proper guidance and restriction, children may become self-centred and this approach hinders social responsibility. Conversely, the proponents of granting children the freedom to decision making, believe allowing children to choose their matters leads to their growth and independence. For instance, it gives them a chance to be responsible people who never shrug off, if a responsibility is left to them and they always try to shoulder it. In my opinion, keeping balance should be taken into consideration. In fact, whereas it is important to encourage children to make decisions about certain aspects of their life, parent and authorities should set limits to keep a balance between freedom and guidance so that not only children are able to develop a sense of individuality but they could empathy in society. To conclude, children making their own choices under any circumstances has advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, in my view, finding a middle ground is vital in enabling children to improve decision-making skills while also considering the well-being of others