Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, most young people do not take any notice of saving money daily. Also, they waste more time on shopping which some people are concerned about. I totally agree that using an enormous amount of time in malls causes many negative aspects that affect those young folk and the whole of society. Firstly, constructing shopping malls to encourage the community to buy things can contribute to a culture of materialism. In the trend of modernization, they become materialistic and value material things above other important things such as health, relationships, and meaningful experiences. For example, a young lady who spends a lot of time in a shopping centre will feel pressure to keep up with the latest fashion trends and consumer products, although it is unnecessary. Because we consume most of our time at the mall, so we do not have enough time for family, friends and for our health. Moreover, due to over-shopping, the environment and employees are getting worse. Because of the high demand of customers at the shopping centre, factories have to release more toxins into the environment as well as force workers to work to meet market demand. For instance, fast fashion was born to meet the need to pursue cheap fashion trends. Besides the great economic benefits, fast fashion brands have released a lot of non-biodegradable substances that increase the greenhouse effect. Moreover, many wage workers have been subjected to violence and abuse such as not being allowed to eat to produce huge amounts of clothing. In conclusion, youngsters should use their day more wisely. Spending too much time at shopping plazas can negatively affect their behaviour and society.