Many inhabited areas of the world have been affected by severe flooding in recent years. What are some of the causes of this phenomenon? What can be done to prevent it from happening?

In certain places,young people are brought up to believe that if they have a strong work ethic,they can be whatever they want to be.The main benfits of this are higher self-esteem and the development of grit, however,the key drawbacks are delusion and poor job prospects. Instilling the belief that child can achieve their dreams with hard work helps children build confidence in themselves.Striving for a goal and seeing sacrifices pay off is incredibly rewarding and each time a child sees this reward,they become more confident that they can repeat this success. Furthermore, this builds perseverance,resolve and determination, otherwise known as 'grit',which are essential characteristics for success in life.Once a child understands that their hard work and effort is what dictates success,they never give up until their goals have been acheived.In her book called grit,Angela duckworth studied achievement and concluded that determination was essential for accomplishment. However,if one blindly follows their dreams, they can become deluded. This is because they can develop an unshakeble unshakable belief in themselves which is not rooted in reality.Another disadvantage is that people with this mindset can get stuck in jobs with meagre salaries.When their confidence and determination result in them pursuing carrers carriers that are not realistic for them,employers do not share the same belief in their potential and they do not get the jobs they had dreamed of. For instance,Los angeles is full of failed actors who believe they will be the next Hollywood star but are forced to do service jobs that require no formal education. In conclusion,sending the message to a child that they can be anything they set their mind to can be a very positive thing because it helps them develop into a fulfilled person who has the requisite soft skills required for success. However,it should be rooted in reality to avoid self-delusion and poor carrer choices.