Holding international games like the Olympics games is an exciting events. Some people thinks it has positive effects while others think it a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports is one of the most famous segments of our modern world. Therefore, organising these games are beneficial for the nation in thinking some people while other opposes that it leads to the wastage of funds. Analysing both viewpoints, I believe that on the positive,side it boosts the economy yet many host countries develop infrastructure which is of no use in future. On the one hand, the main benefit of hosting tournaments on a large scale is that it results in economic growth by encouraging tourism. For instance, in the year 2020, japan was the organising nation, it was reported that during the Olympic,Games about 1 million visitors came to the country just to watch the event. Certainly, these sports events help to build the local economy through the valuable visitors coming from around the world. Moreover, it gives a better position to the trade and name of the host on a global scale. On the other hand, the major downside of athletic meetings is the development of unnecessary buildings which fall to no use once the event is over. Consequently, to build immense stadiums, government spend heaps of precious funds. Taking this into account, in Rio de Janeiro, the $700 million athlete village for the 2016 games was turned into luxury apartments that are now shuttered and the Olympic park is basically vacant after failing to attract a buyer. Thus, organising sports is a financial drain. In conclusion, even though the athletic meet leads to economic growth, it has more cons for the host cities as it can cause unusual expenditure on building stadiums that are not required in future. According to my opinion, if these events are being held in future then the expenditure should be shared by all the participating states.