Some people think movies should only be for entertainment. Others think that they should also have educational values. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Movies have been a significant source of entertainment for individuals all around the world. However, there is a increasing manoeuvre, considering whether movies ought to only be for entertainment or whether they have educational roles. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my personal opinion. On the one hand, movies may be merely for entertainment not only for children, but also parents. This is because, movies provide an escape from situations based on reality and allow commuters who travel to work on a daily basis to relax after the hard work day. Furthermore, if some children do not have ample opportunities to carry out a lot of leisure time activities, movies have the ability to give pleasure. For example, in the global pandemic, many offspring had not carried out entertaining activities, at that time movies might have helped prevent boredom. Although, provided that all movies vanished tomorrow, the only consequence would be that people would need to find another activity to fill the time. On the other hand, I agree with those who think that movies have an adverse impact on increasing psychological and educational benefits for society. That is mainly because, movies can spread awareness about social issues, namely poverty, racism and climate change. They can teach science and history and also literature in entertaining mode that captures people's attention. An example of this is that biopic can be used to educate citizens about the lives of great personalities such as Nelson Mandela or Abraham Lincoln. In conclusion, while some people think that movies should only serve as a form of entertaining, other consider that they should also provide educational values. However, I believe that movies have a role in not only education, but also psychology.