The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year. What do you think of this trend?

Education systems are constantly evolving day by day. Nowadays, rather than giving traditional exams to the students more and more are joining in the latest trends which is the continuous assessments. In my opinion, this has a positive impact because they will be able to acquire knowledge and skills without stressing over examinations. The current trend has the advantage of having consistent learning without the constant pressure of examinations that happens before ending the semester. In which the students are capable of improving their abilities and filling in their deficiencies by taking more assessments provided that they are guided by the teaching staff. Instead of having to base the improvement of the students on major examinations, these quizzes, assignments, or projects will be the basis of how they progress in their subjects. For example, my teacher in high school has given me quizzes and assignments to work on in order to improve my physics class since I had a hard time understanding the subject. Another thing would be, it eliminates stress on their psychological and mental health. This is because children have vulnerable mental states and so this could lead to trauma during examinations. This constant pressure might even further delay their development because of their fear of failure which should be seen as a hindrance. Children are not like adults who balanced personal and professional lives, so lessening the stress of school should be encouraged. A good example is Finland because their education system has this kind of approach wherein they are hands-on with the individual progression of each student. Despite the short time that the students spent at their school, their success rates were comparable to those of students in East Asian countries. In conclusion, I believe this current trend is good because it reduces the pressure on the students able to focus solely on the developments.