In many countries, women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It can be noted that in a myriad of nations, women no longer think that marriage is important. It is thought that since a lot of females are financially independent, they do not feel the need to marry anyone just to get a sense of stability financially. In my opinion, I completely agree there is less tendency from females across the globe to get married due to money matters. Firstly, in today's generation, many females hold postgraduate degrees from prestigious universities that allow them to hold executive positions in their workplace unlike in the past, where they had to be responsible for taking care of their families. It is becoming more common to see inspirational female leaders across industries who have broken the glass ceiling in man-dominated industries. For instance, Hillary Clinton who was the US ex-vice president is a perfect example that females ’ earning power has evolved significantly which makes them less dependent on men for financial stability. Secondly, as marriage is no longer about money, females have higher criteria when choosing their life partner. A lot of females will not settle for less than what they deserve, and it’s beyond tangible matters. If they don’t feel happy or supported, they will rather stay single than get married just to add an additional burden of having to take care of another human being. The purpose of getting married has shifted to provide emotional fulfilment. Finally, there are a lot of unsuccessful marriages owing to a lack of time from both sides to take care of a family. For instance, in most developing nations, such as the UK and the US, females are equally or even more ambitious with career advancement, and therefore, many of them will not give up their careers to build a family. Clearly, These ambitious career women, who barely have time to look after themselves, do not have the bandwidth to be responsible for others. Hence, they decide to just not get married. In conclusion, many females around the world have less desire to get married because they are capable of earning money and being independent. It would increase the marriage rate if all men were more understanding to take turns in managing a family.