Topic 8. Some say that the standard of behaviour among children has worsened and that this is their parents' fault; others say that schools are to blame. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Developing children are highly impressionable. Their attitude and behaviour are often a result of their surrounding environment. It is rather difficult to determine whether a child ’s guardian or school possesses the most significant influence on their mannerism. The following essay will explain how each of the two parties has important roles in a youth’s life. In addition, I believe they are equally influential. Many people may agree that it is the primary job of the parents to ensure that their child is well disciplined. A child spends a large majority of their life at home surrounded by their parents; subsequently, they tend to mirror the actions they witness. For instance, if an adult does not know how to self-regulate their unpleasant emotions and as a result has frequent emotional outbursts, it would be no surprise when their offspring displays a similar lack in anger management. Undoubtedly, it is crucial for parents to set good examples for children as well as display a healthy mindset coupled with correct behaviour. However, opponents may argue that schools, and the qualities they foster in their pupils, have a greater effect on how a child behaves. Instructors who are kind, supportive and patient would ultimately inspire their learners to have a positive attitude. This also helps a child to form a positive relationship with education. In addition, educational establishments, that are strict with their code of conduct, instill strong disciplinary values in their attendees. Unquestionably, teachers have a vital role in educating their pupils, in both school work and how to be model citizens. To conclude, children mirror the actions of their parents as they view them as role models. However, they are heavily affected by their learning environment as well. Therefore, it is of paramount importance that guardians and educational establishments set correct examples and standards in order to ensure the development of healthy well-rounded individuals.