In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, online communication is becoming a trend in many workplaces. While I accept that online communication may have some drawbacks, I strongly believe that its benefits are greater. Communicating through a computer and internet can lead to many disadvantages at work. The main problem of online communication is that it will cause misunderstandings among co-worker and this may lead to tension between them. For example, colleagues are not as close to us as best friends. But when people work and communicate on the internet, they often use words in daily life with friends to talk to colleagues who may misunderstand and feel offended. Moreover, network communication is sometimes not reliable, for instance, when access to the internet is slow or error. This may lead to miss messages, lost email and low productivity. However, online communication brings many benefits in many workplaces. Many companies have a lot of branches in the world while they still ensure the exchange of work between employees. For example, the CEO of the company can hold a meeting with the directors of the branches in different cities through a conference call that saves the company a lot of time and money on the move. Besides, online meetings are often clearly recorded, allowing staff to double-check announcements which helps reduce miscommunication. In conclusion, I would argue that the benefits of online communication in many workplaces outweigh the drawbacks.