Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many older people do not exercise enough. What could be the reason for this? What can be done to encourage them to do physical activities?

Many elders are not exercising enough, even if doctors suggest they do so. I will explain some possible reasons and provide a few solutions for the phenomenon.   There are several reasons why elders tend not to do enough sports. First, they are not as energetic. As individuals aged, they would usually get tired more easily. Therefore, many elders might feel they do not have the energy to exercise that much. Secondly, many sports have potential dangers. Many sports are very competitive, and a majority of them require vigorous movements that elders ’ bodies cannot achieve. In soccer, for instance, all the bumping and kicking would even hurt a young adult. Despite that, just a strong kick could stretch one’s back. Finally, the limit created by their bodies left elders with mostly boring choices. When an old person is trying to choose an exercise to do, some are too tiring, some are too dangerous, and many that are left are just not entertaining. As elders get bored easily, they are less willing to exercise.   Based on the causes, I have come up with some solutions. One solution is to set up clubs. Being with a group often makes things more interesting, as it provides opportunities for socializing. For example, some elders may join the club because their friends recommended them, and to meet their friends, they would come and possibly exercise because that is the activity of the club. Meanwhile, parks and gyms could build and provide more facilities for exercises and sports that are more entertaining and suitable for older people. Last but not least, communities could hold related events and activities per week or per month. Just like joining a club, this could not only provide elders with a reason to exercise but also chances for making friends. At the same time, those who are not exercising enough could be influenced by the others to exercise more.   In conclusion, many elders feel too tired or not energetic to do enough exercise. Moreover, many sports could do more harm than good to their bodies, and most of the sports that are appropriate for them are not very entertaining. To solve the problem, people can join clubs, and the community could provide facilities and hold activities to encourage the elders to exercise more.