Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Curbing crime growth is an issue of broad interest to the general public. With a conflicting view on how to rehabilitate criminals effectively and efficiently, some people argue that it is better to keep them in jail as long as possible, while others believe that we can also apply more options to reform those who violate the law, which may receive a better result than employing a longer prison term. From my perspective, we should not take prison sentences as the only means of cutting crime. It is true that imprisonment is served as an important deterrent to prevent crimes and a major means of punishing criminals in most countries, in a bid to maintain social stability. Felons such as murderers and rapists who are safely behind bars are unable to pose a threat to innocent citizens and neighbourhoods. Furthermore, serving a longer sentence means those wrongdoers will lose freedom for years, which can deter most of us from violating laws, thus reducing the crime rate considerably. However, it does not mean that all offences should be sentenced to a longer-term penalty. For some who are the first time to break the legal regulation, or may not consider their improper behaviours as a violation of the law, they may be abetted to commit more serious offences if they serve sentences with felons. Furthermore, jail terms might harden a convict against society as a result of the brutalising treatment he or she receives. Therefore, more approaches for helping offenders turn over a new leaf, such as community service, probation and so forth, should be adopted by relative authorities, rather than just sending them to lockup. After all, the purpose of confinement is not the punishment per se but to prevent it from happening. In my opinion, minor lawbreakers and juvenile delinquents could be punished in a lenient manner, such as performing community service instead of imprisonment. Moreover, authorities should offer training and education opportunities for prisoners in tune with the times, aiding them to master a skill so that they are able to earn a living in future. In this way, it makes it possible for them to reintegrate into society after serving the sentence. However, extremely violent criminals should be remained in custody until justice is served, which otherwise would be unfair to victims. In conclusion, the way how to punish those who commit crimes should have the twin goals of punishment and rehabilitation, thus sending lawbreakers to prison should not be the only solution to solve the problem.