Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advent of internet technologies, it is evident that there has been a massive increase in people socializing over the web, than in person. Though online provides benefits, this trend has drawbacks as well and this essay elaborates on it. On the one hand, social media apps provisions seamless connection. The individuals are connected with their families and friends, anytime, and anywhere. Social Media apps like WhatsApp, and Facebook, help to send text, audio and video messages, thereby providing connections across geographies and time zones. For example, one could easily stay in touch with their family member who has travelled abroad and long-distance calling is no longer needed. On the other hand, it is quite evident that almost every adult has a device at their disposal and online hours hashave been on the increasing trend. Individuals get engrossed in their own world and the time spent in person has been on the downward trend, with the sense of being family is lost. To conclude, while internet social applications provide instant, 24/7, seamless connectionon, it is still a virtual one, over a device and this should be put mindful usage with a rationed time limit, so that the one-to-oneone, real person's connect is not impaired.