In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The rapid urbanization trend is seen all other the world. Some think that countryside losing its residents to the cities is a negative trend. However, I hold the point, that urbanisation has far more merits than demerits. In this essay, high-level facilities and positive impact on the environment of megapolis migration trend will be discussed. My view is that the future is about thousands of megapolises around the world, where citizens have advanced facilities and affordable housing. Cities are having densely connected communities, where transporting is time and money efficient. For example, subway system in New York helps millions of people every day to commute, providing cheap, fast and environment-friendly service. Moreover, urban areas are beneficial for population in extreme weather conditions, like deserts. The government of Saudi Arabia is building an enormous city, with the length of one hundred miles, in the previously inhabitable region. If the construction goes according to the plan, the area will have air conditioning systems, oasis parks and ponds inside, making it comfortable for population.  Yet another point is that cities are times more space efficient than countryside areas. While the Earth’s population is rapidly growing, available habitable areas are decreasing due to the global warming effects such as floods and droughts. For instance, more than a 10% of planet’s land is used for private agricultural needs. Majority of countryside population have their own farmlands, which are used less efficiently than ones owned by companies and professionals. Therefore, urban population spend less nature’s resources by getting food from shops.  Indeed, I strongly believe that effects discussed above are making an urbanization mainly positive trend. If it was not for cities’ effectiveness and comfort, people will have less motivation to move there.